Caribbean Fusion

A Caribbean cook and a Fusion of food

Bagels and then some… April 17, 2009

Filed under: Bread — Chantal @ 9:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

Poppy & Sesame Seed Bagels

I have been cooking and baking and neglecting my blog (such a bad blogger), I hope to change that (when I sit my FINAL final exams ;)).

Until then, here is my first attempt at bagels, although…am I allowed to call them bagels if I used honey instead of malt syrup? You know that annoying thing where you search high and low for a particular thing because you need it and irrespective of what you do you can’t find it? That was me with this malt syrup and low and behold I go to the health food store this week, after having made the bagels and what do I find? You got it! Malt syrup.

They were quite tasty and didn’t give mom heartburn so that’s a SUPER plus, I adapted the recipe from Baking and Pastry: Mastering the Art :)

For my next attempt I want to try cinnamon and raisins and I’ll use the malt syrup for that to see the difference.

In other news…

I plan to get into my Italian mode and do a couple posts on that as an ode to Eva who was so nice as to stop by and tell me off for being caustic about my awful trip to her restaurant, you can check out that post and her comment here (or below, depending on how you got to the page) :)

For starters here’s my Jerk Sausage and Fettuccine:

Jerk Pasta

It was a cinch to throw together, nothing fancy, just a pack of jerk sausages thickly sliced, some fennel, garlic, a can of diced tomatoes (not drained) and a chipotle for some more heat.

 

One Response to “Bagels and then some…”

  1. Tim Says:

    I really like the look of that pasta! The fennel especially is a great idea.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.